April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Jagster

Reaction score
Hey guys
I am new to the hobby and bought a tank after months of research.
My newly set up 15 gallon freshwater planted overhead filter tank has been cycling for 3 weeks now. I have made a list of the fish would like to keep and need your opinion on it.
6× zebra danio
6× neon tetra
2× oto
1× guppy
2× cherry shrimp

The aquarium stocking level on aqadvisor is 96%, which I know is a bit high for a starter like me. Please help me in finalising my fish.

I have an API freshwater master test kit and found that my tank values are normal. The pH level in my tank in 6.8~7.0
I have a DIY CO2 system that produces almost 30 bubbles per minute.

Thankyou.

Attachments

• 7B294HRJ89tCSHLaBYy3BL26.jpg
    7B294HRJ89tCSHLaBYy3BL26.jpg
    723.8 KB · Views: 244
For beginner tanks it is usually best to have a single species or two. Y ou have lots of species. A single species is best because schooling fish need big groups. There should be at least 10 neon tetras. Zebra danios are too active for a 15 gallon. Try 15 neon tetras, 1 oto, some chrry shrimp.

For beginner tanks it is usually best to have a single species or two. Y ou have lots of species. A single species is best because schooling fish need big groups. There should be at least 10 neon tetras. Zebra danios are too active for a 15 gallon. Try 15 neon tetras, 1 oto, some chrry shrimp.

Thank you so much for your reply . I chose zebra danios because of their comparatively hardy nature. The tank is 20" long and 14" high. Do you think I should get 15 tetras or less?

Otos are also shoaling fish and you'd need at least 6 of them. But a 15 gall tank won't be able to grow enough algae for that number. They should only be bought once a tank has grow a lot of algae for them to eat.

I agree with cooledwhip, danios are very fast swimming fish that need long tanks. And they need cooler water than most other fish.