smaggie

Reaction score
I have had my tank for about 9 or so months. Recently added a yellow mimic tang. Today i just noticed this. Is this ich? What do I do?! This is my first time dealing with this. None of my other fish have those spots. I went to a local pet store and a marine employee said he has seen tangs have “fake” ich spots and not to jump the gun with treatment. He suggested waiting until the morning to see if it’s gone.

Please be nice I’m new and just have no idea what to do.
IMG_0678.jpeg
. Thoughts? I am freaking out

Hi, Welcome to the Forum.

What your "Pet shop guy" was referring to is called Lymphocytes, also called "cauliflower disease". they are small masses of lymphatic tissue forming pustules that can grow over time and while at some point they can be the same size as Ich, they will typically grow larger and appear lumpy. It is caused by a virus and there is no known treatment, But on the other hand, is not deadly and will pass with time.

You must assess that it is not velvet or ich. Before taking a decision. velvet will go fast and leave you very little time to react.

Read how to identify all of these illness and observe your fish closely, research until you are able to be positive on the diagnostic you are taking.

If it is velvet or ich and you are hosting invertebrates in your tank, It makes the treatment more complicated.

If it is indeed Lymphocystis, Good water quality and great food is the best medicine.

If they grow large enough to impact the fish’s ability to eat or swim, surgical removal may be necessary.

But you are far from there... Normally, It will clear out in a matter of weeks.

Clean Water. Plenty of Good Food.