The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Cameronb_01

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have been keeping tropical fish now for three years and I have  always wanted to keep discus fish. However they require quite low Ph and for years I have been told by the people in my LFS that the only way to do this is by using a barrel to collect rainwater or by putting a large expensive contraption under my kitchen sink. However one day I went into my LFS to pick up some food and I see at the counter a "Ph Controller". This apparently just changes the Ph to whatever you want it, surely it is too good to be true?
I have the following questions about it:

1. Do they actually work and if so how do they do so.
2. What kind of price am I looking at?
3. What is the maintenance like?
4. If I want to keep fish in a lower Ph than my tap water is this the easiest and lowest maintenance way to do it?

Thanks so much in advance for all your replies.

Cameron

Also are there any imp-articular that you would recommend for a 450L tank?

Never heard of a PH controller. It does sound too good to be true. If there is an aquarium club in your area, maybe someone there knows about it.
   3 of the 4 LFSs in my area sell RO water for about .50 per gallon, which normally has a PH of 7.0, but it would make for expensive water changes if you had to buy water every time. 
   Well-rinsed peat placed in a media bag inside your filter should help to lower PH, but if your water is very hard, it's difficult to keep PH low. My wife would love to have a discus tank also, but our well water is much too hard and base for them. If there were such a thing as a viable PH controller, it would be worth the expense.