The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Nero_Vipus

Reaction score
My first tropical fish 20 gallon tank and has been running for a week. I am an amateur that has done a lot of research but can't find solutions to the following problems:
Just added 4 zebra danios and 2 panda cory's
Now for the questions:

1. I have gravel. Researched that it can damage the cory's 'whiskers'. Should I buy some sand to add into a section of the tank or layer on top of the gravel? Been 12 hours since they were added and they are very active. Also very small and cute, under 1/2 an inch.

2. 3 of the zebra's are very active just like the research promised. The 4th has been hiding the entire time and not moving much. It is not schooling with its siblings. The danios seem mature and almost fully grown. Why is this 4th one being so inactive and shy? How concerned should I be and what possibilities am I looking at? Is it stressed to the new environment and not adapted as well as the others?

3. I don't plan on increasing the fish population much. At most I plan on adding 2 more danios and a stand alone fish that is peaceful and can be happy without others of its kind. Will my danios be just as happy if I get different types? Like leopard danios? Will they not school as well? And for my singular fish, any recommendations? I was thinking something like a rainbow shark but maybe not as big when full grown (5 inches).

Thanks!

Hello :)
So, has your tank been running for a week with fish or has it just been running for a week.... Did you cycle the tank before you put the fish in?