FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

VioletThePurple

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
This is my first time using a proper siphon. I've followed all the instructions that came with it. The problem is, when it picks up waste the waste just falls out soon after instead of going in. Unless I tip it over to pour directly down into the tubes. The instructions told me to shake up and down, so I did that. It won't suck all the way up automatically. Is it supposed to be like this or am I doing something wrong?

This is my first time using a proper siphon. I've followed all the instructions that came with it. The problem is, when it picks up waste the waste just falls out soon after instead of going in. Unless I tip it over to pour directly down into the tubes. The instructions told me to shake up and down, so I did that. It won't suck all the way up automatically. Is it supposed to be like this or am I doing something wrong?
The waste is not going all the way up the tube because your suction is not that strong. Is the tank close to the ground? Is it on a stand?

It could clog quickly making the suction stop?

h

hmmm. Not sure what the problem could be then....
The problem is that she hasn't managed to get a syphon going in the first place. The "move it up and down rapidly" technique isn't the best.

@VioletThePurple you can watch the vid I linked, or you can suck on the bucket end of the tube while the tank end is underwater until enough water is flowing through. But then you risk a mouthful of tankwater. The video techniques are far easier, less messy, and less gross than choking on fish tank water.

The problem is, when it picks up waste the waste just falls out soon after instead of going in.
The problem is that she hasn't managed to get a syphon going in the first place. The "move it up and down rapidly" technique isn't the best.