First Aquarium - Snail Invasion (and other problems)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Haywire

Reaction score
Hello!

To begin with, I'm totally new to fish keeping and want to ensure everything is done right before I add any fish to the tank. These forums have been a great source of information for me. I purchased a 180L Rio Aquarium which came with an internal Juwel filter and I fitted an external filter (Tetra 800 Plus) for some added filtration. It's a coldwater aquarium, and I intend to add two fantail goldfish to it.

SkypePhoto_20170609_23_37_51.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/wfV638y.jpg (Use this link if the image above doesn't work)

I aim to add another decorative ornament and some small lava rocks. However, when I started to cycle the tank a few days ago I noticed a couple tiny snails on the glass and eggs all over some of the plants. I frustratedly removed the snails and disposed of the 3 plants in which eggs were visible. Clearly, I was too optimistic as the snails had returned within just a few days. Although hard to see in these pictures, the snails are no bigger than pea size (my guess is that they are bladder snails) and move around the glass and decorations eating algae. I can see eggs and have witnessed one of the snails mount another, so unless they were fighting I can assume that they're already mature enough to reproduce.

SkypePhoto_20170609_23_39_34.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Bc1O4be.jpg (Use this link if the image above doesn't work)

It's somewhat difficult to see, but eggs are present on the wood and plants accompanied by algae. The plants aren't looking too good either, and green algae are growing on the taller plants and glass. I plan to do a large 80% water change tomorrow to keep the nitrate levels down and also; clean the glass/plants/decorations/wood, get rid of any eggs I see, move all snails into a separate bowl, rinse out the filter media and vacuum the gravel.