Fertilizer with shrimp

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Bicyclemaster

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
3 days ago I added about 20 RCS to my 10g tank and I was wondering of it's alright to continue adding liquid fertilizer to the tank. I was thinking that about 1/3 of the recommended amount ones every other day should be fine. I have some epiphytes and they need some ferts.

It's my first time keeping shrimp and from what I've seen about half of them have moulted.

There is a lot of hardscape so idk if there are any deaths. I haven't seen any dead in the visible areas.

Btw, the sponge is there because I initially had a sponge filter in, but I switched to a HOB and since the bacteria is mostly on the sponge, I'll keep it in for some time.

Attachments

• 20230515_120613.jpg
    20230515_120613.jpg
    274.4 KB · Views: 29
I use fertiliser in both my tanks, one has red cherry shrimps, the other has amano shrimps. But because I have slow growing plants I use less than half the recommended dose and the shrimps (and nerite snails) have been fine with that.

I fertilize my shrimp tank with no problem too. You will need a pre-filter sponge on the HOB if you don't have one already.

Any reliable liquid plant fertilizer will be balanced. This means there will not be sufficient of any nutrient (like copper for example) to cause problems for invertebrates or fish, provided the fertilizer is not overdosed. "Reliable" liquid fertilizer means one that is comprehensive-- complete with all nutrients needed and in balance with each other. These products are "supplements." Dosing mega fertilizer in a high-tech planted tank is obviously a very different thing.

I use fertiliser in both my tanks, one has red cherry shrimps, the other has amano shrimps. But because I have slow growing plants I use less than half the recommended dose and the shrimps (and nerite snails) have been fine with that.