Does My Betta Have Fin Rot?

eslingerl10

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am fairly new to this hobby (about 3-4 months in), and I've begun my hobby by purchasing a 3 gallon half-moon tank with a whisper filter and a heater to keep the water at 78 degrees. I figured this would be the best environment for my Crowntail Betta after I did some research saying not to keep him in a bowl or an unfiltered tank.

Anyway, I love this tank and I love caring for my fish! I am about halfway through the cycling process, but I noticed that something may be wrong with my betta. I'm not sure if his fins are experiencing fin rot or if they're even damaged at all, but they're concerning enough that I decided to join this forum and see what everyone else has to say about my fish. I also plan to use this forum to learn more about fish-keeping in general.

I attached a picture of my fish; could someone please tell me if my baby is damaged?? I want to help him before it gets too far 
no.gif

Thank you!!

IMG_3298 (1).JPG

What Others Need to Know to Help You

When posting a request for help can you please include the following info

1. Water parameters. (ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, PH, temp', Hardness etc)
2. A full description of the fishes symptoms.
3. How often you do water changes and how much.
4. Any chemicals and treatments you add to the water.
5. What tank mates are in the tank.
6. Tank size.
7. Finally Have you recently added any new fish?

You may cut and paste the template below and submit in your post:

Request Help

Tank size:
pH:
ammonia:
nitrite:
nitrate:
kH:
gH:
tank temp:

Fish Symptoms (include full description including lesion, color, location, fish behavior):

Volume and Frequency of water changes:

Chemical Additives or Media in your tank:

Tank inhabitants:

Recent additions to your tank (living or decoration):

Exposure to chemicals:

Digital photo (include if possible):

Tank size: 3 gallons
pH: 7.5
ammonia: 0
nitrite: 2 ppm
nitrate: 5 ppm