Bacterial Bloom ?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

tamfrnz

Reaction score
Hi all, 

I am having an absolute nightmare of a time with my 28ltr aquastart !! im a beginner having the tank for only 1 year. Up until last month the tank has just went totally cloudy and is very unsightly as you can imagine
sad.png
. The tank only holds 4 neon tetras, 1 male dawrf gourami and 1 otocinclus. The cloudiness is a white cloudiness which leads me to believe its a bacterial bloom however over the past 2 days this has slowly turned green ? the white cloudiness has been apparent for over 1 month.

I tested the water this afternoon and found : ammonia 0ppm, nitrite 0ppm, nitrate 5ppm, PH 7.5

I was advised to leave the tank to clear on its only but it hasnt budged at all and at my wits end
sad.png
was so happy with how things where before i just want it back to that way. Any suggestions welcomed thanks
smile.png

Tam

:hi: to the forum.
Firstly, it probably is a bacterial bloom and a algae bloom combined. Some decent water changes should clear it up, just make sure to use temperature matched dechlorinated water.
Secondly, the neon tetra's shouldn't be in that size of a tank as they need one 60 litres +, they also need to be in schools of 6+. The Dwarf Gourami shouldn't really be in there either. The Otocinclus needs to be in a group of 3+.
If possible, you should try to rehome or upgrade these fish to a tank 60 litres +. If you can rehome/upgrade then check out this thread here on what you could then shave in your 28 litre: http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/418749-nano-fish/