Are My Mollies And Platys Pregnant?

pokegirl1332

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
i'm not a beginner but i'm definitely not advanced yet, but i'm really excited cuz i'm pretty sure these 2 fish are both pregnant =D, i have 2 pics of my molly (sold to me as a golden panda lyre tail molly, can anyone tell me if that's right based on the pictures cuz she's ALOT more black than my other 2 but she's a real beauty), and my mickey mouse platy has recently gotten VERY fat! can anyone please help me and confirm that they are pregnant and i need help with what to do!!! this is my first time having fish be pregnant and i really have no clue what to do other than what i've read of the internet and i want as many of them to survive as possible (i've made a separate 5 gallon tank for them with lots of plants) and there's a million things i need to know like, should i use a breeding net? how do i care for the babies? how to feed them/how much? are they really pregnant? how much longer? how to tell how much longer? how to tell when it's time? when should i separate my fish? any advice? i read that small fry can suffocate in in large gravel, should i get sand? and questions i didn't ask that might be important for me to know? PLEASE!!! I NEED YOU FISHY BIRTH EXPERTISE AND KNOWLEDGE!!!

Attachments

• molly.jpg
    molly.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 126
  • platy.jpg
    platy.jpg
    32.8 KB · Views: 126
  • platy2.jpg
    platy2.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 133
  • platy3.jpg
    platy3.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 146
  • IMG_0642.jpg
    IMG_0642.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 130

LyraGuppi

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Why do you want all of them to survive? If you do your chances of being overrun are massive.
Try not to use a breeding net, they stress the fish. I would put the female into the 5 gallon and take her out when she is done, or just leave her in the original tank.
I fed my livebearer fry flake, like a normal grown fish.
They look to be pregs, not sure how much longer.