Amazon 55 Gallon Aquarium - Dirt And Plants!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

silenthawk2x3

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am setting up a 55 gallon amazon themed, planted, dirted, generally awesome tank as soon as this semester is over. I have 5 angels that I have been raising for 4 months, and their bodies are silver dollar sized so it's time for my first "big" tank. I've been doing low tech planted tanks for a while now so I know how to plant, keep everything alive, and get awesome green and low-maintenance aquariums without selling organs on the black market.

This is what I have planned...

Substrate:
Miracle-Gro Organic Potting Mix
Sand of some sort as a topper, need opinions of best sand to use (natural colors only)

Lighting:
48" 216W T5 HO Light Fixture Extendable Series
http://www.aquatraders.com/48-inch-4x54W-T5-Aquarium-Light-Fixture-p/52305p.htm

Plants:
Amazon swords (have, BIG 'UNS)
Red Amazon swords (have)
Red Melon swords (have)
Red dwarf lily (have)
Star grass
Pygmy chain sword
Open to other suggestions for amazon plants!

Filtration:
Emperor 400 Pro Series (2?)

Other:
Driftwood
Mystery snails (I breed them, too successfully I fear)
Cherry red shrimp (perhaps once the plants have grown up enough cover to protect them from the wrath of the hungry angelfish)

Fish:
5 Angels (I already have these)
6 albino corys (I already have these, they are fat)

Now here is where I am looking for suggestions and help...
TETRAS! :)
(#?)Lemon tetras
(#?)Red-eyed tetras
(#?)Bloodfin tetras
(#?)Rummy nose tetras
(#?) Hatchet fish
More corydoras?

I don't use heaters on any of my tanks and have never had a problem with any of my tropicals, my lighting and home heating is usually enough to keep the temp between 75 and 80 even in the dead of winter. I will add another filter perhaps after the initial cost of setup has faded from my nightmares a bit. Hehehe...