Why is water still cloudy?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Barry Tetra

Fish Aficionado
Pet of the Month 🎖️
Reaction score
I change substrate of my discus tank and water is so cloudy, should I net the fishes out?
@Colin_T @seangee

Attachments

• B8C493EB-8AF3-429F-8062-9CA3065DAB42.jpeg
    B8C493EB-8AF3-429F-8062-9CA3065DAB42.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 101
Hi. there is a think foam in places at the top which suggests there is something in the water. is it new substrate or just cleaned old substrate. if new, did you rinse it?

I am pretty new to this but I would take fish out then completely drain the water keeping the substrate and re-fill. This should take take all the residue with it and then it should be clean. Fill it back up, if still a little cloudy, do the same again until clear and re-fill, get to correct temp and put fish back in. Make sure water parameters are correct before adding fish.

Oh, clean the tank walls oal and get rid of any foam

How long have you had the sand in? It will probably settle after a couple of hours. It looks like suspended dust - so just leave it. No point in stressing the fish.

If / when you add more sand use a plastic water, coke or milk bottle. Make sure its properly cleaned and cut off the bottom. Put the lid on and fill it with sand. then put it in the tank upside down so it is just above the base. Remove the lid to let the sand flow out. This will make much less mess.
(Oh and rinse the sand more first ;))

How long have you had the sand in? It will probably settle after a couple of hours. It looks like suspended dust - so just leave it. No point in stressing the fish.

If / when you add more sand use a plastic water, coke or milk bottle. Make sure its properly cleaned and cut off the bottom. Put the lid on and fill it with sand. then put it in the tank upside down so it is just above the base. Remove the lid to let the sand flow out. This will make much less mess.