Slow turn over on new tank.

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

jaylach

Supporting Member
Pet of the Month 🎖️
Reaction score
I have recently setup a small 20 gallon cube tank that is going much slower than what I'm used to in the past... last tank was about 25 years ago. It looks like it is a bacteria bloom being somewhat cloudy. The cloudiness is a light grey or slightly milky. Granted that the tank has only been setup for about 2 weeks max. It is also a smaller tank than I used to run. Over the last couple of days the cloudiness has lessened a little.

The cube came with built in filtration of which I have no real knowledge. Right now I have the pump for this disconnected and the carbon pack removed... never did see much sense in using carbon on a normal basis. The built in pump is just too strong for the rope fish I want at a rating of 264 GPH. I DO intend to replace with an 80-100 GPH pump. As I'm old school I'm also running under gravel filtration which is currently running. There are two under gravel plates with one riser per plate. Each riser is driven by a Whisper 40 running full flow. The gravel varies from 2-3 inches thick.

The tank is populated by a pleco, a cory, and 2 black skirt tetras. These were all inherited in a 2 gallon tank.

I guess that is enough history. ;)

I have thoughts on why the cycle is longer than what I used to experience but would like to know if I'm thinking wrong.
1) It is a smaller tank than I used to run.
2) It is a cube instead of rectangle resulting in less gravel surface for the under gravel filtration.
3) The gravel is just generic aquarium gravel and I used to use agate to increase the alkalinity for South American Cichlids.
4) The altitude where I now live, Sheridan Wyoming, is MUCH higher than previous tanks at 3700 feet. Previous tanks were in Ohio, 623 feet and Texas at 439 feet.

Do these factors make sense as to my seeing a much slower turn over that what I used to see?