Newbie Wanting Help With Betta Splenders (Fighting Fish)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

BettaAsh

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello All!

I am new to this forum, and I am also new to owning my first Betta!

I am wanting to know a few questions I have about them.
I am sorry if this has been asked before, I'm still trying to find my way around
smile.png

QUESTION ONE:

I am wanting to breed him, I am unsure of his age, I brought him a local Pet Shop. I have him in a large tank, I'd say under 2ft.
I am wanting to put a divider in the middle for the female to be on the other side of the tank.
I have one heater, which I was going to keep on the side of the male (as the divider has holes to allow water flow (visibility is hard between the two fish) which will then become the fry's side of the tank.
Will I need to buy another heater for the female side of the tank, or will one be suitable?

QUESTION TWO:

I have a Crowntail Male Betta. Am I able to breed him to any other breed of betta. eg: halfmoon female betta.
I am hoping to get some really new and interesting colours, but I am unsure if you have to stick with the same fish.

Thank you to anyone who can help
smile.png

Cheers
Ash

Attachments

• fighter.jpg
    fighter.jpg
    79 KB · Views: 182
I wouldn't recommend a newbie breeding Bettas I'm sorry. They require lots of maintenance and years of research.
But, I'll answer you question regardless :)

1. Each fry needs its own tank and should not be kept with either of the parents as they will eat them or harm them. 
    No, you do not need another heater.

2. You can breed your Betta with any other colour/tail form, just be aware that some deformities may occur.

Thanks for the reply.by newbie,I meant to the forum, not to owning fish :)

Even so..what other fish have you bred? We don't mean anything by it saying you shouldn't just don't want you to have a difficult time if you're not ready for it