The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Ap97

Reaction score
Bit of a long post but please read all PLEASE NOTE I am brand new to this and have only had my fish for around 1 week : I Have got a 30L tropical tank, which was left cycling for nearly 2 weeks before any fish went in. There is lots of live plants also some plastic ones, lots of hiding spots bridges etc. The water parameters were tested the day I bought my Betta fish and they were all perfect. I also got 3 neon tetras to go in with him. Did everything right when they first went in, they were happy and healthy, after a few hours of them being in the tank I noticed the Betta wasnā€™t acting normal was very lethargic and not happy, which I realised was maybe down to the water temperature (the lady in the shop told me to set it at 24C which I knew after reading online was wrong !) so I turned it up to 26C and the fish were happy again especially the Betta I seen a massive improvement in him. For about the first day or so he looked a tiny bit bloated which I figured was down to the stress from the cold temperatures also maybe over feeding, so I fasted him and the bloating seems to have gone. Then I noticed all fish were gasping at the surface, so I rushed out and bought an air stone to get more oxygen into the tank. This seemed to make the fish happy again and all seemed fine. After about 2 days or so one of the neon tetras died, then the following morning another one had died. I figured this was probably due to the stress from the cold temperatures as the tetras are more fragile than a Betta. I did a Partial water change (matched tank temperature, conditioned water with stress coat, stress zyme) and the Betta and the remaining neon tetra seemed happy and healthy. Another few days later I purchased 5 cardinal tetras (they are fine to school with the remaining neon tetra, in total there are 6 tetras). All seemed fine and healthy but then I started to notice