Losing shrimp! Help a kid out here 😩

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Alexander1702

Reaction score
Hello hello one and all, I'm calling in for some much needed assistance. I'm relatively new to the hobby, but have been keeping aquariums (poorly) on and off since I was young. But these days, I'm trying to take things a bit more seriously.
I've had my little 4 gallon aquarium at the foot of my bed for a while now, and I've been keeping amano shrimp in it for about 2 or 3 months. I figure they have a lower bio load, so they would be a little more forgiving when it comes to cleaning (not to say I don't already do weekly water changes. I love my children) They have been happy and healthy for a long while now, molting well and eatin good. They bring me great joy
I've also recently (within the last 2 weeks or so) been attempting to add in a few cherry shrimp. I had them relatively successfully when I was younger and I'd love to keep em again. I haven't had luck acclimating all of them, but a few have stuck around so far. I think I really just need to home the skill set of shrimp acclimation, they're so damn fragile.
I realize this post is already drawing long, but I'm just trying to cover all my bases here. Long story short, they've all been happy and healthy for the last week or so. One of the cherries even molted without any complications, so things were looking good. Notice how I use the past tense there?
It's not the shrimp-pocolypse or anything, but I lost a cherry overnight. Not too shocking. But I lost an amano as well! One of my treasured, well lived and well loved big boys. I was deeply concerned to say the least.