Best light for 10 gallon planted tank?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

newmag1659

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm starting up my second tank, a 10 gallon, and the lights that come with it are terrible. I have some low light hornwort and amazon swords, but I'm going to be adding some medium-light plants in next week.

I'm a college student, so I don't want to spend a ton, I'm gonna say no more than $40 USD.

So far, I've been suggested the:

NICREW ClassicLED Aquarium Light

Beamworks Beamswork DA 6500K 0.50W Series LED Pent Aquarium

Finnex fugeray clip on

Substrate is fluval stratum and I'm not growing anything with high light demands. I also fertilize with liquid weekly and root tabs as needed. Currently no fish added but there will be once fully cycled.

What do you suggest for a heavily planted tank (but not high light demand plants)? Please only suggest lights you've used and been successful with! Thanks :)

In addition, I'm wanting to add a combo of platys and mollies. How many should I get of each? I was thinking 2 mollies and 3 platys.

Last edited:
In addition, I'm wanting to add a combo of platys and mollies. How many should I get of each? I was thinking 2 mollies and 3 platys.
In a 10 gallon tank, none. Both species need a bigger tank.

If you have hard water, endlers would be OK. But if the water is soft, no livebearers.

I'll leave the light question to those who know what lights are available in the USA.

In a 10 gallon tank, none. Both species need a bigger tank.

If you have hard water, endlers would be OK. But if the water is soft, no livebearers.

I'll leave the light question to those who know what lights are available in the USA.
I couldn't do like 3-4 platys if they're all male or all female? If they aren't reproducing I've been told they would be alright.