Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Ask Questions About Cycling

Discussion in 'Cycle your Tank' started by Chad, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. eaglesaquarium

    eaglesaquarium Life, Liberty & Pursuit of the perfect fish tank
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    12,815
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    US
    3-5 days should be fine. Would be ok to add another snack dose.
     
  2. GuppyGal2018

    GuppyGal2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I just purchased a Biorb Flow 8 gal tank and I want to move my guppies to it. We have amazingly hard water here that has killed several of my pumps/aerators. I've set up the tank and put the starter bacteria in but I'm not comfortable just putting my kiddos in the tank. I know I should be able to speed up the cycling of my tank and I can move some of my bacteria covered ornaments/plants to help but how fast would be safe to move my kids?
     
    #437 GuppyGal2018, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
  3. Colin_T

    Colin_T Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13,524
    Likes Received:
    597
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Hi and welcome to the forum :)

    You mention the hard water has damaged several air pumps. Can you tell us what happened to them?
     
  4. GuppyGal2018

    GuppyGal2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an old tank that is 10 gal with the side filtration system that aerates when the water goes back in. The mineral deposits build up and keep the motor or pump or whatever from turning and then they burn out.
     
  5. candrews999

    candrews999 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all we (read I) are cycling my daughters 60litre tank which she intends stocking with some shrimp and a male betta. I/we have added the snack dose of ammonia and ammonia is now at 0 but nitrites have been at 2 for about a week. Do I need to add more ammonia or just add more patience?
    Many thanks in advance
    Carl

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  6. candrews999

    candrews999 Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I'll come here for advice again!

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  7. nighthawk723

    nighthawk723 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently fishless cycling a 60 gallon tank with sand substrate and about 30% live plants.heat is at 80 degrees with filter running 24hours. I'm using fish flakes for ammonia ( no stores sells pure ammonia around me), and was wondering if I can speed it up by using python bio support which is a bacteria in a bottle. I don't now anyone that can seed my tank. I've gotten up to 3ppm for ammonia and its been a week. The tank looks yellow with all the bacteria blooming so it's working so far...
     
  8. LeeMew

    LeeMew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello - I'm relatively new to the fishkeeping hobby, and I'm intending on getting a Marina S15 HOB filter. I have been told by some that it's able to filter fine from the get-go, no cycling needed. That seems a little strange to me as the filter would have no beneficial bacteria in it. How would one go about cycling a tank with this filter? In the usual way?
     
  9. eaglesaquarium

    eaglesaquarium Life, Liberty & Pursuit of the perfect fish tank
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    12,815
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    US
    No filter comes pre-cycled. They all need to go through a process.

    Yes, this filter, as with any other should be done the same way.


    A filter can be 'cloned' if there is a tank with existing filter media and then the existing media can be used to either greatly reduce the process or to instantly cycle the tank. That depends on the bioload in the tank the old media is taken from, how much the intended bioload will be of the new tank, and the amount of media taken.
     
  10. Lenka

    Lenka New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I’m in week 5 of my fishless cycle. I used ammonia to start. I initially used API QuickStart but after some reading I did a week of the seachem stability about 3 weeks ago to help. My readings at the moment are nitrite .25ppm, nitrate .20ppm and ammonia 0ppm.

    Question I have, is am i getting close to the end? And should I be adding in ammonia at this stage?

    Thanks
     
  11. eaglesaquarium

    eaglesaquarium Life, Liberty & Pursuit of the perfect fish tank
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    12,815
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    US
  12. Anthony Dibble

    Anthony Dibble New Member

    Joined:
    Yesterday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, going to do a fishless cycle using the great information provided. One question though please. I have a friend with an established tank. If I place a bag of filter media straight into their tank will that bacteria colonise that enough to use as a boost for my cycle when i start? If I leave in there for two weeks or so. I don’t get my tank until the 10th of June 2019
     
  13. essjay

    essjay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes Received:
    271
    Location:
    UK
    Two weeks won't grow many bacteria, if you can leave it there longer it would be better.

    The bacteria we want to grow live in the biofilm which is bound to surfaces. The bacteria don't get up and wander around. They colonise new media when there is excess ammonia and nitrite in the water which makes them increase their numbers, and some of those new bacteria will find their way into the new media. Putting extra media into a tank but not increasing the number of fish means the bacteria don't need to multiply so only a few will move into the new media.

    The best way to seed a cycle is to ask your friend for some of his media, and give him your new media to replace his old media. That will contain lots of bacteria and all you'll need to do is grow some more. He can give you up to a third of his media without harming his fish.


    But whichever you do, you'll start the cycle with more bacteria than in just all brand new media. The only difference between leaving your new media in his tank for two weeks, a month or using some of his old media is the amount of bacteria you'll transfer to your tank.

    However make sure that your firend's tank has no diseases in it first!
     

Share This Page