missjeannie

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!
Im really new to this hobby. I had a tropical tank when i was like 13 but that's it! haha
I am just in the process of cycling my tank ready for the first lot of fish to be put in but i wanted to check i wasnt putting a stupid combo of species in with each other!
I was thinking of neon tetras, guppies, rummy nose tetras and a pair of blue rams.
Does this sound okay? Suggestions/advice most welcome!!

:hi: to the forum, missjeannie :)

How big is your tank, and do you know if your water is hard or soft?

Sophie said:
How many litres is the tank?
Dimensions would be more helpful (as rams in particular need space for a territory); we can always work out the volume from the measurements ;)

If you're starting out German blue rams or EBRs aren't a good idea as they're very sensitive fish, try bolivian rams or a peaceful species of apistogrammas.

70 Litres I think - it's the Juwel Rekord 700
I should add that I was certainly not planning on having ALL those in my one tank haha just wanted an opinion on which would go well together!

Maybe just one schooling fish, I personally like rummy noses more than neons. You could get maybe 6-7 rummy noses and as a center piece a betta, a gourami, or other fish of that sort. For bottom dwellers you could get some corydoras, most species is fine for a 17 and a half gallon. I personally like sterbai corydoras, you could do 5 in there.

Thanks for the advice so far guys :)
Also I think I have soft water but I dont know for sure right now as I live in a grey area between hard water and soft water areas haha

*hard not soft! hah