Which Fish For My Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

rsturbo666

Reaction score
hi all newbie here just got a fluval roma 240 tank and i am wondering whats everyones opinions on which fish to get for it im looking at tetras, mollys, guppys, barbs, danios and plattys also want a few larger fish what do you think

any help would be great

thanks

scott

Hi welcome to the forum!

With fish choices the best thing you can do is read and read and read. All the fish you have listed there are the basic fish and cover a broad spectrum of fish but after spending a couple hundred pounds on a tank surely you want to make it special :) A few good sites for researching fish based on profiles are seriouslyfish.com planetcatfish.com loaches.com and also the profiles on this website are pretty good though perhaps a little dated. If your in the UK it would be worthwhile picking up a copy of Practical fishkeeping magazine from WH Smith as well though their website is pretty good as well :)

Now the first thing to do before getting your fish is get your tank ready for fish and to do this you have to do whats called a cycle and info in this is in the beginners resource section of this website, but it is brilliant and a lot to learn in there! Here is a link to it http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/277264-beginners-resource-center/ I would read the articles about the Nitrogen Cycle and also the one on Fishless cycling its the only 100% safe way to add fish to a new tank and is the way I would recommend to start off the hobby :D

Wills

cheers for the help wills im currently cycling the tank as we talk could you recommend any bigger fish to make it special

Cool :) how are you cycling the tank? With pure ammonia or shop bought products? A lot of what the shops tell you just does not work and fish die or get ill early on.... Just want to make sure your aware of your options :)