April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiko

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I really wished people would stop advising newcomers to water chase.
I get it, some people like crystal clear water
but a recent thread the OP said he was advised to do 90% water changes
I've been doing this for over 20 years and I've never done a 75% water change much less a 90%
stressing out fish like that is unnecessary and water chasing should only be done by test and trial to see how much their own fish can actually handle
passing this on as advice should never happen and not sure why someone advised him to do so or the reason for it
but suggesting a person do a 90% water change when they're asking for advice means they're probably new to the hobby and they're not experienced
much less know how to properly water chase over time to check how much his fish can actually handle
I get we have 2 types of people in this hobby...the water chasers and the "naturalists" like me
but water chasing CAN kill fish and should be explained in detail especially to a newcomer
that he should only gradually do this to the point he notices something's up with his fish and reduce it from that...and use the last point as the max water change allowed by his fish
we always explain to people the effects of chlorine and the reasons for filtering it and using carbon and buckets and so on...
I really wished people be a bit more conscious of others as we've all killed fish and explain things a bit more in detail and its causalities...

I've been doing this for over 20 years and I've never done a 75% water change much less a 90%
stressing out fish like that is unnecessary and water chasing should only be done by test and trial to see how much their own fish can actually handle
passing this on as advice should never happen and not sure why someone advised him to do so or the reason for it