Violet Goby (Dragon Fish) Gasping? Please Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

MadameFizzgig

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First off, I am a newbie fish owner. I do not have a ton of experience with fish. That being said, I recently purchased a violet goby from Walmart. He is about 4 inches long. Apparently he was living in fresh water there, but I read that he should be living in brackish water. So, I've been slowly acclimating him to brackish water. I'm slowly raising the SG so that he will be at 1.010, we're about half way there so far. I'm doing it slowly because I don't want to stress him out more than he likely already is, plus I couldn't find anything online about how long it should take to acclimate him. The temperature in his tank is 77 degrees, and he is the only fish in the tank.

He hasn't been eating much, but I read that sometimes it takes them a while to get used to a new environment. He did, however, appear to have eaten some of an algae wafer earlier today. What's concerning me is that he appears to be "gasping" at the bottom of the tank inside of the log he likes to hide in. The tank is filtered well, and there is plenty of oxygen and very low ammonia levels. He does not have any other issues besides the "gasping" thing that he's doing. It's not constant, but I've noticed him do it around 3 times today.

Is he filter feeding? Is he stressed? Will he get better once I finish acclimated him to brackish water? Is there anything else I should be doing?

I'd really appreciate any advise!

What is the "very low" ammonia levels?
Is the tank cycled?

Couple of things:  

• What size tank? a Violet Goby can reach 1' or larger and will eventually require a 50+ gallon tank
  • Walmart is not known for selling the healthiest of fish, so it is possible that he was sick already
  • As Lyra mentioned, what does "very low" ammonia mean?  ANY ammonia is detrimental