Venturing Into The Whole World Series Seven - <spring Sunrise>

barrylamlam

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
hello everybody:
this's my 40CM X 29CM X 29CM tank
2006 aquascape < Spring Sunrise > , also my first post here...
hope you enjoy it :)












 

Themuleous

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
6,130
Reaction score
0
Right that's it! Ive had enough of seeing such amazing tanks from the CAU people, anyone want to buy my three tanks, I'm going to start extreme ironing as a hobby, as I'll quite clearly never get anywhere in this hobby when people are producing tanks of this quality.

Sam

PS I'd prefer 10quid for the tanks but will take 5quid if necessary, pick up only ;)
 

craynerd

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
922
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester - UK (Blue Side)
Sam , come on man pick urself up!

I felt exactly this way, but think of them as inspiration not negatively.

Sure they are amazing, but i am currently buying EVERYTHING that one of these tanks uses (can`t tell u which lol) then i have no excuses! At least then i can only blame myself and improve my own skills since i can not criticise my equipment.

Barry, i am a huge fan of your work. Some more inspiration...i can already see ideas i will be adopting.

Chris
 

Qays

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
1,463
Reaction score
0
Location
Luton, Britain
excellent!!!!!!!!!

Btw, where are the wires and pipes coming in from in the tank? Theres none at the top!!
 

Chris_Wood

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
141
Reaction score
0
Location
Devon, UK
Absolutely incredible! Soo bright 8)

So many questions... How long did it take you, what equipment, substrate?, fertilizers?

I take it you follow ADA principles and maintenance?

CW
 

NAL

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Location
Reading, UK
Awesome tank. Barry can you share with us the lighting, ferts, substrate and so on. As you can tell, many of us are keen to learn from you guys in the CAU.

Nick
 
OP
B

barrylamlam

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thanks everyone for loving my tank.

to craynerd

tks for ur comments... :blush:

yes u are right :good:
i have been taken out all equipment for the picture.


to Chris_Wood

here is my tank spec. :)
Lights : 36W PL X 2
fertilizers : ADA Step 1, ECA, Iron bottom
substrate : ADA IRON Bottom ,ADA Aqua Soil Amazonia
Change water : 1/3 per 3 days
CO2: Pressurised CO2 non stop 4 bubbles per second
 

Themuleous

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
6,130
Reaction score
0
Hi Barry,

I make that tank around 33lt yet you say you have CO2 at 4 BPS, do you know what the CO2 level is. At that rate it could be over 100ppm?

Thanks

Sam
 

GWU

Member
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi Barry,

I make that tank around 33lt yet you say you have CO2 at 4 BPS, do you know what the CO2 level is. At that rate it could be over 100ppm?

Thanks

Sam
It seems, a lot of people questioning why we injet so many CO2. May be I can explain a little bit, that is our experience of using ADA substrate, it turn the water to very soft, KH down to almost 0, and PH also below 6. As you may aware lower KH will cause low buffer to PH, if according to the relative table of PH to KH to measure the CO2 level, low KH and low PH of water will not easy to retain CO2, that why we have to injet more to compensate the loss. Also to injet how many is suitable for the same size of tank, I think it should also consider the density of plant and their grow rate. For those fast growing plant, the amount of CO2 should use up faster than the slow one, especially we use strong lighting. I can say it is a kind of push strategy to provide a saturate environment in order to let the plant stronger, because only a strong plant could affort heavy trim and split branch more easy after trim. B)
 

craynerd

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
922
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester - UK (Blue Side)
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, thank you so much Gary, that certainly clarifies a lot of things for me!!

I am using ADA aquasoil in my new setup i am making within the next few weeks, so i am listening carefully.!!

......my KH in my local area in the UK is very low, around 20ppm and the pH is 6.7. If i use Aquasoil then i presume the KH will lower even further. Now if this does move near to 0 like you said, will this not cause a complete pH crash..OR since KH and pH are related, once KH has reached near 0 i presume the pH will be able to drop no further! Therefore is this the reason that you wrote about, why you add so much CO2 to get the saturated solution ?

Chris
 

Themuleous

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
6,130
Reaction score
0
As Chris says, thanks for providing the info, it has puzzled me and a few others for a while now, and its always good to find out what other people are doing :)

Just one question though, if you have very low KH how do you prevent the pH from crashing? Is that done through the large regular water changes? I see this tank gets 1/3 every three days, far more often than I do mine.

Regards

Sam
 

craynerd

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
922
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester - UK (Blue Side)
Sam, is it maybe soemthing to do with the reason i said above, if the KH gets so low, since pH and Kh are directly related, if KH drops to near 0 this will inhibit the drop of pH since KH can not move any further! Seems a strange concept and i think i may be totally wrong, but....

it would also give reason to why they inject so much CO2, since the KH is low and pH will not go lower, they need to saturate the solution to get the disired CO2 level ???

lol, thats my theory!! :D :D :D
 
Top