April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

EricBacker

Reaction score
Hey so I am new to this hobby and have a some questions. Let me first explain my set up and situation. I have a 30 gallon tank, a fluval 50 filter, an Eheim Jager heater for a 40 gallon tank, a current LED lightstrip, live plants (sorry dont know the names, 1 rock and sand substrate. I have 5 fish in it right now: 2 Angelfish, 2 Silver Dollars, and 1 Needlenose. I had an electric catfish but he died because of a mistake I made that is one reason why I am joining this site so I don't make another mistake like that :(. Okay to my question, I have been feeding the angelfish and silver dollars frozen bloodworms and Cichlid Gold pellets. They seem to really like this but since I got the needlenose I decided to try the switch to live food. I watched him get fed right before I bought him so I know he wasn't hungry and I knew he would be nervous so I figured he wouldn't eat for a day or so. However I have been told that the other fish are carnivorous too (and read) but none of them are even touching the guppies. I dropped one in and they followed it around for like 10 minutes (Hilarious) and never even touched it it now resides under the rock hiding. So my main question would be, is there any way for me to have them switch over to eating live food? Also anything else you can share with me about anything would be a great help. I also realize the tank may be small but when the fish are bigger I will probably sell them either back to the store or to others. Another option is upgrading my tank!
Thanks!!

Honestly, you're making a mistake trying to switch to live food For nearly all fish, it's unnecessary, and it's not nutritionally a good diet (because of how commercially raised fish are fed, compared to how wild ones eat).