Stocking Ideas for a 36 gallon bowfront

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
šŸ¶ POTM Poll is Open! šŸ¦Ž Click here to Vote! šŸ°

JaydenGorth77

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to fishkeeping and need some help. I soon plan to get the Aqueon 36 Gallon bowfront ensemble. I donā€™t know what filter (suggestions are appreciated) or heater. I would like to have An Angel or two and some Diamond Tetras, maybe a ram. Other than that I need some suggestions. I am on a tight budget so the cheaper the better. Thanks for all the help!

Forgot to mention it is not planted and also would like other tetras that will not be eaten by the Angel. And also some kind of non aggresive bigger fish, that has a unique personality. The only stores around me are petsmart petco and thatfishplace so not that much of a selection but I will make do. Also should I have a planted tank? Is it really that beneficial for all the work put into it.

Last edited:
Welcome to TFF. :hi:

Before we suggest possible fish species, most of us here like to know the water parameters. Some fish need harder water than other fish that may need softer water. The GH (general or total hardness) is the most important, then pH. Knowing the KH (carbonate hardness also called Alkalinity) is also worth knowing as it affects pH long-term. These parameters for your source water should be available from your water authority if you are on city water, check their website.