Shy Tiger barbs

New Boy

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
My tiger barbs are really shy - they all hide down the bottom at the back of the tank. They haven't always been like that, has anyone ever had shy tiger barbs and if so how did they get them out more

Thanks
Andy

I have never heard of shy Tigers. Mine are over active if anything. I know they go mad when they see me approaching the tank and even recognise the noises of the food cupboard door, maybe try not feeding for a couple of days and see if this wakes them up a bit. But i am no expert, am only guessing.

Did this just recently happen? Does it happen when you turn the lights on or at some other time or is it just a when ever type deal? I have had tigers in darn near every tank I've owned and am just wondering whats going on. I know that they will hide when the light bulb needs to be changed or is the wrong spectrum and there are a few other reasons why but those are the ones I have observed time and time again.

Rose

Unless being bullied, Tigers are not shy, they are lively and active.

Are your water parameters okay? If this is a recent development, that is the first thing I'd check. Barbs in general and Tigers in particular are sensitive to poor water quality, a sudden change in behaviour should prompt a thorough check. There are those that keep them as "indicator" species.

Are they in a somewhat "head down" posture?

when i firs put my tiger barbs into my tank they where shy after a few days they stoped being shy and now they are very active

My barbs are like dogs. They know me and they come towards me. Of course, that may be conditioning associated with me feeding them, but i love it.

If i walk towards the tank then rush up to the glass. If i open the top, they gather up at the surface waiting for food.