The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

yhbae

Fish Gatherer
Reaction score
Of course, I meant to title it as:
"Sex ratio for platy/guppy" fries?".... :blink:

The first and the second batch of platies I had appears to be 100% females! For platies, this isn't necessarily bad since females look just as nice as males. But for guppies, this is not the case.

So for the experienced breeders out there, how do you force certain ratios for these two species?

I heard that for platies, pH is the major factor - more acidic the water is, you get more males. At pH of around 7.2-7.4, you get roughly 1:4 (M:F) which is a good ratio for survival. I hear temperature might also affect the ratio as well...

Absolutely no clue on the guppies though...

Wow, I'm no expert, but I'm gonna say that it sure makes no sense to me that any way your water is would affect the gender of your fry. That's like saying if a pregnant woman breathes air in the country instead of the city she's got a better chance of having a boy - seems silly to me! (But I could be wrong!) :dunno: Anyways, I think it's left up to chance - boy fertilizes girl, whatever sperm fertilizes that egg gets to choose the gender of soon-to-be-fishie! Anyways, I've proved the platy theory wrong already - out of my 3 platy fry and acidic water, I've got all lil ladies. :)

i don't know about the fish but in certain reptiles, temperature does determine the sex of the babies. If the temperature is cool, it will be males, if warmer, females. But since platies, guppies, etc are livebearers, temperature has no effect on sex of the fry, that just seems logical to me, but i guess i could be wrong

Hmm... This is odd as I was expecting a floodgate of responses on how they managed to get the ratio right by adjusting some water parameters... :D

I did find a few articles that experiments this factor... I'll try to look for them again and post links...

juliethegr8t said: