April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Jenbing0914

Reaction score
Hello, this is my 1st post. Let me say I am not a total newbie but it has been 20+ years since I have had anything bigger than a 10 gallon. Have had a 150 gallon in the past for a few years. I will be getting the rest of the new filter and new substrate (play sand most likely, but open to suggestion) in the next week or so to begin cycling a "new to me" 55 gallon aquarium (totally free with stand and 2 heaters). I have the lid and lights but they will be replaced soon, as they are 20 years old. I am thinking of stocking the tank with 12 (15 if space allows) Cochu Blue Tetras, 6-9 Green Fire Tetras, 3 Bolivian Rams, or 3 Powder Blue Dwarf Gouramis (not sure which I like better, or if I could even keep them together) probably 6 Albino and/or Emerald Cory Cats, a few snails, and a Clown Pleco. I will be doing a sponge filter on each back corner (rated for 30-80 gallons each) and a small HOB filter modified to use a sponge instead of charcoal filter cartridge, in the top center. I want to over filtrate and gently circulate all the water properly. I only plan on doing very basic beginner plants (anubias nano petite attached to driftwood, some frogbit, and hornwart, maybe duckweed, I have never done live plants before) and some artificial plants to achieve a purple/green color theme. Does this sound like a good stock for it? I will probably start with the Corys and snails to get the cycle going. Then add the Blue, and Green Fire Tetras as things progress and go from there with the Pleco and Rams/Gourami. Does anyone have experience keeping the Bolivan Rams and Blue Dwarf Gourami in the same tank? I have kept tons of tetras over the years (currently have 6 Black Skirt Tetras in a different tank that is still cycling, and a fully cycled tank with 1 male Betta and 2 cory cats 1 albino/1 emergency all doing great) but I am new to the Rams and Gourami. Any tip