Seachem Ammonia & pH Alert

ellamay

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 28, 2021
Messages
129
Reaction score
35
Location
Leicestershire, UK
I've just ordered my first tank (105l) and I've been researching everything for a few months, has anyone used the Seachem pH and Ammonia alerts??
I've seen really mixed reviews. I would obviously do actual water tests as well.

1612375631494.png
 

PheonixKingZ

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Pet of the Month!
Fish of the Month!
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
17,623
Reaction score
11,573
Location
Lawrenceburg, KY
I personally wouldn’t. They can so times be helpful, but then other times give you a false alarm, or not even work at all.
 

FishGuest5123

Fish Maniac
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
9,505
Reaction score
6,177
Location
USA
I personally wouldn’t. They can so times be helpful, but then other times give you a false alarm, or not even work at all.

I actually use the ammonia alert due to the ammonium in my tsp water just to be safe. I have never had one fail. I test them every now and then. You have to replace once a year but cheap enough to do so.
 

PheonixKingZ

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Pet of the Month!
Fish of the Month!
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
17,623
Reaction score
11,573
Location
Lawrenceburg, KY
I actually use the ammonia alert due to the ammonium in my tsp water just to be safe. I have never had one fail. I test them every now and then. You have to replace once a year but cheap enough to do so.
I looked into getting one a few years back, but decided not to because of the reviews. It’s different for everyone I guess. :)
 
OP
OP
ellamay

ellamay

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 28, 2021
Messages
129
Reaction score
35
Location
Leicestershire, UK
I actually use the ammonia alert due to the ammonium in my tsp water just to be safe. I have never had one fail. I test them every now and then. You have to replace once a year but cheap enough to do so.
I think I’ll get them and still do water tests often. I’ll just see how I get on with it. Thanks!
 

seangee

Fish Aficionado
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
4,512
Reaction score
3,651
Location
Berks
The ammonia alert was useful when I set up a new tank. Once I know the tank was stable I binned it. I got the kit with both, pH alert didn't work for me as my pH was too low - but it is also too low for any fish keeping test strips or solutions to measure.
 

Most reactions

trending

Staff online

  • Chad
    Reef Tank, Crustacean, and Puffer Enthusiast
  • Fishmanic
    King of the Jungle
Top