Possible parasite on downtrodden platy :(

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Fishphoria

Reaction score
Hi all. Iā€™m a total beginner fish keeper. My brother has given me some fish so Iā€™m still learning!
I have 9 platy and a Bala but one of my platy has had clamped fins for the last few days. At first I thought it was stress but Iā€™ve noticed heā€™s swimming erratically, heā€™s lost weight and he swims at the surface quite a lot. Iā€™ve increased oxygen levels and done a partial water change to see if that helps but itā€™s not. I was wondering if itā€™s possibly parasites like gill fluke or maybe an internal worm/parasite? I know stress can bring it on?
Iā€™ve purchased some interpet parasite treatment which is arriving tomorrow, do you think I should use it and hope it works? Heā€™s a lovely little fish and Iā€™ve grown quite attached to him.

Any advice greatly received.
Iā€™m headed to my local aquatics shop tomorrow also to pick up water testing kit and some other bits because Iā€™ve only just learnt about this.

Iā€™m meant to be moving them from the 42L tank my brother gave me to a bigger 120L tank but Iā€™m now thinking Iā€™ll treat them first as I donā€™t want the stress of the tank move to be too much for my poorly platy.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Most fish health issues are caused by poor water quality. Before you add chemicals, test the water for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH.

Until then, do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate each day until the water is tested.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it is added to the tank.

How long has the tank been set up for?

If you can post a picture of the fish it helps with identifying issues.

The following link has some information about what to do if your fish gets sick. It's pretty long and boring but worth a read. I recommend printing it out and reading it in bed to help you fall asleep.