The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JuiceBox52

Passionate about fish and their care
Tank of the Month 🏆
Pet of the Month 🎖️
Reaction score
So I ordered live plants for my 55 gallon tank, this is my first time with live plants so I am nervous and excited!
I want to pick all of the neons peices of gravel out of my black gravel and just have black. Shows how bored I am lol. How would you suggest going about that? Just scoop the gravel out? Do I need to remove the fish?
I will be posting pics when I get the plants and driftwood and keep this thread updated throughout the whole thing :)

I usually scoop gravel with a net and leave the fish in it. However, if you don't feel comfortable doing that, then you can remove the fish.

I separated coloured gravel years ago when I got sick of the multi-coloured stuff. I used a glass table and a popstick with the end cut to a point. I put a thin layer of gravel on the table and used the popstick to separate the different colours into piles. It took a few weeks but I eventually separated it all.

Make sure the gravel is clean and dry before doing this.

Last edited:
Word of advice: Once you got your plants and planted them, you may notice that the plant leaves are melting or dying. Do not worry as it is normal for some plants to have their leaves melt in a new environment. It is a way of how plants acclimate to their surroundings. The plant that is notorious for having their leaves melt in a new environment is Cryptocoryne. However, it will bounce back over time.

Word of advice: Once you got your plants and planted them, you may notice that the plant leaves are melting or dying. Do not worry as it is normal for some plants to have their leaves melt in a new environment. It is a way of how plants acclimate to their surroundings. The plant that is notorious for having their leaves melt in a new environment is Cryptocoryne. However, it will bounce back over time.