PH and driftwood

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tttay89

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Evening!
Complete newby here. Joined a forum because of the false advice I keep getting given by aquarium shops (After failing my first tank from being told I can put a load of fish in a new tank after a few days).
I'm now running a fully cycled 120litre stocked tank with no issues after a lot of forum reading and good advice

APART FROM

my Ph has slowly been rising over the past month and has now hit 8.5. couple weeks ago I bought some driftwood, soaked it for a few days and added it to the tank. This made no change to PH, don't want to use peat moss or leaves as apparently this turns the water very brown (which I understand is good for the fish) but not a great view.

Question: I want to add more driftwood. My question is if I do soak it and remove all tannins to stop it staining my water, will it defeat the whole object of lowering my PH? Will it have no effect at all other than a decoration?

Cheers !

Byron will latch onto this one in short order and then you'll have the straight lowdown. But anyway, welcome to our little world. You will get much better advice than from the money machine shops. You will learn things you didn't even think you could know about.

If your pH is rising there is something in the tank that is making it rise. The most likely cause will be your substrate or rocks in your tank. Until whatever that is has been removed no amount of wood (or anything else) is going to make any difference. In the absence of such substances a tank will naturally become more acidic over time.

There are additional barriers to lowering pH and we can get into that later but for pH to rise something has to make that happen.