The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Fishies1996!

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am very new to the fish world, so far it has been going pretty well, however, I never knew how much you needed to know and all the problems that can occur. We have had the fish tank around 6 weeks and have gradually added (in order) Ember Tetras, Honey Gourami, Panda Cory, Kuhli Loach, Cherry Shrimp. So we have had the Cory around 4 weeks.

I have noticed for a few hours now that 1/3 of my Panda Cory’s has not really been moving much/playing dead. Now I think about it, this could have been going on for a few days but may have not clocked it until now.

On a closer look it appears to not really be moving its tail much and the tail looks as though its tensed closed. It moves maybe every 5 minutes but then just does the same thing. The tail also has red marks as shown on the picture. Is there anything we can do for mr/mrs Cory or are they doomed. I have tried to google but all that’s coming up is something to do with ammonia but the ammonia levels are 0 and I check the parameters every few days due to being new to this, and they have always been good:

Ammonia 0
Nitrate 10
Nitrite 0
Chlorine 0
Hardness 50
Carbonate 60
Ph 7

Last 30% water change and gravel hoover 3 days ago.

Please let me know what you think is happening and whether there is anything that can be done.

*****update*****