Newborn lobsters/crayfish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Narayan

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi people :)

My female Australian blue lobster eggs are about to hatch. At the moment I'm seeing little legs and stuff waving from the egg sacs.

When they do emerge (which I hope will be soon) what an earth do I feed them and what can I do to ensure their survival??.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved :D

Take 1 large saucepan, fill with water and bring to the boil......!!!!! :p

The baby crawdaddies are, as far as I know, basically adults in miniature. I'd put them in a different aquarium from the mother (I'm not entirely sure this is necessary, but mom sure doesn't care for the babies in the wild) and feed them with whatever you feed your other crayfish, only ground up. Anyway, that's what I'd do, but I'm no expert.

Thanks Never2Bknown. At least that was more helpful then "Take 1 large saucepan, fill with water and bring to the boil......!!!!! "

:D

So you didn't like my other idea of erecting an "exclusion zone" around each one with a cut down plastic bottle? :angry:

Ha! The boiling water it is then, never mind Narayan - it should make a nice romantic loster dinner for Ken & Barbie! :rofl:

Seriously, I hope they're OK (and look forward to seeing the one big fat survivor who has muched all the rest!) :D

We had this conversation on the phone already and... as I have said before, It is impossible in my tank.

The layout prevents that, and the little babies are nowhere to be seen at the moment.

Hooking them out to stick them in cut off plastic bottles would do them more harm than good.
:S

No I think as usual you weren't listening. If you could tell me how I misunderstood that would be helpful. :)

Narayan, I work on a yabby farm i guess my information would help you alot better then others.