Newbie. Attempting To Start And Aquarium And Cycle The Water, Please H

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

natabeexo

Reaction score
Hi there! My name is Natalie and I am COMPLETELY new to this fish business. I'm in need of some serious help. Currently, I have one Dwarf Gourami and one Pleco (bottom feeder). For the moment, I have a five gallon tank, which I'm sure is ok for two small fish temporarily. When I first begin this process, I had one extra fish..and angelfish. Not knowing anything about water cycling, I stuck all three fish in. I had a heater, a filter, and a bubbler. The angelfish died within five hours, which is when I started to do my research and realized that something was wrong. I then proceeded to go to Walmart, and picked up a Jungle Complete Water Care Kit. In tablet form this included a Start Zyme, Start Right, and Correct pH. I removed the remaining two fish and dropped in the tablets. It's been about ten hours so I went and purchased an API Ammonia Test Kit. It was at about .25, but I know it needs to be at 0. I'm figuring that I need to let the water cycle for about 24 hours before I put the fish back in but I'm not even sure about that. Also, I bought a bottle of Stress Zyme and added a smidge more of that. The water is super super cloudy right now and I'm worried that I need to dump all the water out and start over again. Can someone please help me?

Hi Natabeexo, and welcome! :)

First, you're right, the five gallon is too small. Is there some way you could get a bigger tank? I would also suggest to take the fish back to the store where you got them from. 

It would be best if you would consider doing a fish-less cycling, because it is less work since you don't have to do constant water changes, and no fish can be harmed while your tank cycles. 

Here is some interesting info on this: http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/277264-beginners-resource-center/