New To Saltwater!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

hexy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all,

I just wanted to say I am new to marine and would like some advice :)

I finally bought a tank the other day, off eBay actually to start my adventure. It is a fish pod 64 tank and came with live rock and simple internal filter (I have been told I must go external?) and skimmer, and heater, and a beautiful damsel fish which I understand is a good one to cycle?

Below is a picture of the set up (water level is slightly low as I need some more RO water and LFS were all out)

IMG_0948.jpg

What I wanted to know is:

A) what other fish could be added, and how many is too many?
B) would I be able to introduce coral? - I have just stand two lights
C) is there enough live rock?
D) I would like some help on ensuring my skimmer is working properly - it is quite loud and I can only get it quieter when I submerge it lowered into the water and pretty much close the valve...

Any other help would be so helpful, as I say im new to marine, I have had tropical fish running for 3 years now but just couldnt resist and would like to eventually change my large tank to marine.

Thanks
hexy

Hi Hexy

welcome to the salty side

Is that a 65 litre tank? If so you can use the calculator at the top of the forum home screen to check the amount of live rock you'll need. I think its about 7kg for a 65 but check the calculator

Is that live rock in the pics? I;m not sure it is?If you have decent liverock in there you wouldn;t need the internal filter or an external for that matter as the rock would be your filter as long as there was decent flow in the tank

what kind of lights are they?

simon