New To Aquariums Bought A 3 Gallon Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Kirsty Chesko

Reaction score
Hi Tropical fish forums,

I am new to the aquarium world and was looking for some advice to get started. I have owned a couple of Beta fish before always in a vase like bowl with a peace lilly ontop.

I have bought a 3 gallon aquarium (which I know is small) and I wanted some advice on how to stock it. I wanted to get another beta fish but I also wanted to put some other fish in there too. I have tried looking online and I know many of the small fish which I thought would be perfect for this small tank need to be in shoals - ergo not good for this tank
unsure.png
any advice on what I can put in it because I wanted more than 1 fish?

Also I have seen a couple of things about cycling - not really sure what that is
unsure.png

Thanks for the advice

Neons won't be happy in numbers less than six, and a 3 gallon tank isn't big enough.

It's a betta, or shrimp really, in a tank of that size.

Don't forget, it would be best to do a fishless cycle on the tank, before you add any fish.

Neons won't be happy in numbers less than six, and a 3 gallon tank isn't big enough.

It's a betta, or shrimp really, in a tank of that size.

Don't forget, it would be best to do a fishless cycle on the tank, before you add any fish.

Dang, Thought they might have been fine. Nevermind then, SHRIMP Lots of shrimp :p

ONE betta or some shrimp. Make sure you get a filter and a heater. Tetra makes a small filter called the whisper 3i. I use this in my 1.5 gallon shrimp tank. You should have a hood as well. It will help with evaporation. Also, bettas and shrimp like to jump. My sister had a sorority of female bettas in a 10 gallon tank. 1 jumped out onto the floor. It's a good thing my sister was in the room. She put the betta back in the tank and bought a hood that afternoon.