New, looking for tips

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

CamG369

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to fish keeping and am looking for any tips and advice anyone can give. The plan is to keep tropical fish, in a 90L tank starting small and gradually introducing more.

Is there anything I definitely should or should not do starting off? Any information is appreciated. I have done a bit of research myself but this may be a better source of information. For example, the best kinds of fish to start with etc.

Thanks in Advance

Yes! So glad you asked. Please study about the aquarium nitrogen cycle and be sure to get your aquarium cycled first. This short video will help explain things. Most people don’t bother to ask questions first and kill their first group of fish. Please watch and then we are here to help you!
. After watching the video, here are steps to cycling your tank. Don’t feel overwhelmed, we’re here to help.

https://m.wikihow.com/Cycle-a-Fish-Tank?amp=1

Last edited:
Guppies, mollys, and platies are always great beginner fish.
Tiger barbs are nice and hardy, but they are major fin nippers so you would really have to think about tank mates.
Harlequin rasboras are pretty, and are also really hardy fish.
Since you're just starting out, I would stick to hardy, easy fish. Just remember to get fish that all need the same water temperature, ph, gh, and kh.

Do you know about cycling? If not, put a lot of research into it or ask how to do it. If your tank is not cycled, you can lose a lot of fish.
I just wanted to mention too, incase you don't know, there are two ways of cycling a tank. There is the fish in cycle, and the fishless cycle. I would recommend doing a fishless cycle. There is a lot less work and worry involved than if you do a fish in cycle.