New Aquarium Very Cloudy Water... Help

Rocky918

Reaction score
hey everyone, im new to owning an aquarium... ive always wanted one and now i finally went out and got a 40gallon tank about 2 weeks ago... ive been setting it up so far, spent a week making sure my tap water was dechlorinated and then it was time to establish the nitrite nitrate cycle... so i bought NUTRAFIN to do this before adding fish so that my water was safe for them to live invand followed the instructions ... it was a 3 day cycle and by the 2nd day i used it, the water was really cloudy... teh 3rd day the water was even cloudier... i tried two different products to clear hte water and neither have worked... i went to the store and they said the water was fine to add fish so i bought a couple cheap ones to help the cycle going and didnt wanna spend more money yet in case they die because of teh water...

so my question is, how can i get the water to be clear? right now it looks so ugly and dirty.... and it all started when using NUTRAFIN to help the ammonia cycle... any help woudl be greatly appreciated

What Nutrafin product did you cycle with. I had some nutrafin cycle, but I didn't think it could do a fishless cycle, it's one of those bacteria boosters, and seeing you dosed daily, i guess you have a bacterial bloom.

Large water changes are the order of the day here for two reasons. You need to dilute the bacteria and what's feeding it. Also now you have fish you're in a fish in cycle you'll need to test the water daily and do a water change if there's any ammonia or nitrite to protect the fish from their ill effects.

What fish have you put in? seeing they're cheap I'm guessing danio's, tetras or guppies. I've fish in cycled with guppies before and they survived some seriously horrible levels of nitrite.

Quick aside, If you can get away without adding any chemicals to maintain the tank, clear the water etc... you're in a better place for you're tank.