MY CORY'S LOST THEIR EYES!!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Auslander

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I hate it when things like this happens becuase it makes me feel like a really lousy fish keeper, and that I'm not properly caring more my fish. I am only a novice having only been keeping fish for about 6 months or so.
Basically, the other day, I bought 2 Corydoras Strebai. I have a particular fondness for Corys. My tank is 180L and planted. I have plenty of bogwood and flints etc....loads of places to hide. I put the Corys in the tank at around 2 in the afternoon, and imagine my horror when at about 7 that evening, I came in to find one of the Sterbais with his eyes missing. I didn't know what to do, so I just left him. The funny thing is, that one of my albino Corys had a red eye the day before, but that appeared to completely heal overnight.
With the Strebai, he seemed to be relatively unaffected by his blindness, he was swimming around, still looking for food, but bumping into things.
I had to go away for a few days due to family problems and left my girlfried looking after the tank. She reported yesterday, that the other Sterbai has lost one if his eyes, and that she has isolated them both in our breeding trap (we dont have a hospital tank). When I got home this evening, the first Cory with both his eyes missing was dead.