Jewel cichlid injuring other large cichlid

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

yellowstitch123

Reaction score
Hi

This is my first time posting although I have been keeping fish for about 8 years and in the last two years have started keeping south african cichlids.

In my current big tank (76g, 350l) I have a few south american cichlids. A chocolate cichlid who is about 4 inches, two young jewel cichlids about 2.5 - 3 inches, a severum probably about 4 inches and a fully grown inca stone cichlid. There are also two bristlenose plecs in there. Peace and harmony within the tank, no issues.

I was temporarily caring for an acara for a friend who is fairly placid, I agreed to take him providing that everyone got on. This was temporary whilst they had to run down their tank then set up again. Had no issues and acara went at the weekend. To catch him I had to remove most of the decor from the tank but it all went back in quickly.

Since removing the acara, the chocolate cichlid (who was previously reasonably quiet) started "trying his luck" a little bit, a little bit nippy with the sev but not to a point where it was concerning. Left the inca alone due to size.
Yesterday evening I saw the cichlid at the back of the tank and I thought he was dead due to lack of movement. He was not dead, but has had a real number done on him. None of the other fish are remotely injured and are all acting as normal with each other.

I have added in additional cover for the injured fish and dosed the tank up with melafix. It has been over 24 hours now and he's still doing ok minus looking like he's lost a bad fight. Other fish are still ok.