Is this a Cory fungal infection? please help!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Happy Raymo

Reaction score
1670037073631.png

I have added these Peppered Cory catfish to my tank a few days ago and noticed these Projections coming off of their barbels. I am very new to this hobby but I have been doing everything I can to make sure that the water quality is good. This is a newly set up aquarium but I have been doing PWC every 3 days and dosing with Seachem Stability. The 10 gallon tank, planted, has 1 betta and 4 catfish. I have been lurking the threads seeing if I can find an answer to my question if this is an infection or not, however, nothing conclusive. There is occasional flashing from the catfish but there are no other obvious signs of infection. Ill add when they flash its once or twice then they keep on trucking. All the fish in the tank Have been acting normal and have not changed since the development of these "things". They are all still exploring and interacting with the environment around them. From the 4 of them Id say I observe 4 flashes a day not from any specific one either. They dont appear to have their fins clamped and they are all eating well, betta too. These hairlike projections are only on the catfish to a seemingly universal degree on their barbells and only one has it on a pectoral fin. The water temperature is at 79 F. I have read that it is possibly an excess secretion of mucus as they adapt to their new environment. Please let me know your thoughts as I do not want anything to happen to my guys

My parameters (they are high but I read that they will rise before they fall in a soon to be established aquarium please correct me if im wrong)
Ammonia (I have been using API Ammo lock): 0.5 ppm
Nitrite: 0.25 ppm
Nitrate: 5.0 ppm
pH: 7.2
1670037095377.png

Last edited: