In The Beginning There Was A Tank.....a Small Tank

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Glensmole

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
As I'm totally new to this game, I thought it would be a good idea to keep a journal of my fishy experiences. I'm going to take advice from you (helpful though please!
yes.gif
 ) along the way and share the good and bad times of keeping a nano tank.

So it all started about a week ago when some lovely friends of mine offered me an Aquael 20 nano tank for my sons (aged 6 and 1) as they had grown out of it.

My friends simply said (and they won't mind me telling you this!) add gravel, tap water, switch the filter and heater on and wait a week. Add fish and "Bob's your Uncle" as we say here in Tamworth.

Well I did exactly that.......Well up to the wait a week.....It's been 5 days.

When the water started to get cloudy, I paniced.  Then I found this brilliant forum. OMG it's saved and converted me....Well my fish anyway.....Well It will have done, when I get some.

I read the article Beginners Resource Center (start here http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/277264-beginners-resource-center/ )

I'm going through the fishless cycle at the moment.  My 6 year old want's it to hurry up, but I've told him it'll be worth it.  My water has cleared (today!!).  I'm waiting for my API water testing kit, API tap water conditioner, ammonia, gravel cleaner, cleaning brush and copy of Star Trek Into Darkness on Bluray in 3D........Well I bought it all from Amazon and I thought my fish will have to get into Star Trek if they want to live with me!!

My items should be here in the next day or so.  I'll continue this soon. Here's picture number1

Attachments

• Picture1.jpg
    Picture1.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 114
Hi and welcome to the forums, everyone here is very helpful and mostly friendly, I'm just beginning myself and this site has been invaluable..
Nice choice on fish less cycling, :)