The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kevinlegit

Reaction score
Hello fish friends, I'm new to the whole aquarium thing so I need some advice/help please. I started off with just a comet goldfish in one of those little Betta tanks with a filter. Five weeks later that tank begins to leak so I took it in and they gave me store credit and they didn't have anymore small tanks so I upgraded to an eighteen gallon tank. They recommend I buy I heater so I did and they set it up for me. Everything was fine and a couple weeks later I added more fish, three Cherry barbs. Those did great no problems at all. This past Friday I decided to add another fish to the family, an angelfish. My wife picked it out and the guy at the local fish shop said it would be fine with our other fish. The next morning I found it dead at the bottom of the tank /: the other fish hadn't even got to it yet. I went back in to the shop when they opened and had my water checked everything was good. The guy said maybe stress did it in but I noticed that the other angelfish were gone from the tank they were originally in, odd right. I ended up getting three cardinal tetras since then one is missing /: the other two are doing well but now I noticed all my fish have white spots. Looks and sounds like Ich? What should I do? What's the best treatment? Is there anything I can do or tell the fish shop? Please help

Welcome to TFF.

You have several problem issues, I'll start with cycling. Do you know how to cycle a new tank? We have articles at the head of the "Cycle Your Tank" area:
http://www.fishforums.net/forums/cycle-your-tank.291/