Ich and fish-in-cycling

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

amanda64

Reaction score
Hi! I am very new to having a fish tank. My kids have been asking for one so my hubby took them to a local farm and pet store and got a tank and GloFish. Itā€™s a small tank, 5 gallons, and we got 5 fish. He was told we could set it up and put them in right away. After some reading I now know that was very bad advice! After a few days the fish started to get white spots and I identified it as ich. Weā€™ve lost 3 of them already, not sure if itā€™s to ich or improper cycling. But this brings me to my big question... the ick treatment I got requires the removal of the filter, however the filter seems to be where the beneficial bacteria grow to properly cycle the tank. What can I do? Iā€™m sure weā€™re going to lose the last two fish, theyā€™re doing ok at the moment but the last one that died seemed fine the night before. Should I focus on treating the ich or cycling the tank? I feel like my poor fish are doomed. And if they do die, should I start over completely? Thereā€™s weird fuzzy stuff growing on some of the decor and I donā€™t know if I should start over or try to salvage the tank. Any help is appreciated! Iā€™ll try to attach some pics

Attachments

• 513B4054-5378-4D39-BFD0-2021D4F893A9.jpeg
    513B4054-5378-4D39-BFD0-2021D4F893A9.jpeg
    270.8 KB · Views: 57
  • A41DCBD4-3454-4AEA-B232-FECCA861BDB7.jpeg
    A41DCBD4-3454-4AEA-B232-FECCA861BDB7.jpeg
    145.3 KB · Views: 58