I Need A Bigger Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Betta201

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

You could say that I am new to the betta world. I got my first betta in January. She is a female crown tail betta.

I have a serious problem though, she still lives in a cup. She is living in a tiny cup :no more than 8oz. She is literally soaked in her poop. I'll try and attach a picture. I hate it. My mother seems to think that they are much happier in a small tank. When I talked to her about getting a bigger one, she told me not to waste my money. I plan on buying it, but she is my ride to the store.

I don't know what to do. I clean the bowl out two times a day and the fluctuating temperatures can't be good for the fish. How do I convince her to let me put a bigger tank (2.5 at least) in my room.

You may want to show her THIS and see if that helps. It'd also be good if she knew you'd be the one taking care of it.

welcomeani.gif
to TFF btw! Hope you enjoy it here.

welcomeani.gif

8 oz of water (about half gal) is very little, sadly, nowhere near enough for a betta to thrive.
Usually as a rule, 5 to 10 gallons is good for bettas.

That link which Ninjouzata posted, is a good link from a well respected betta breeder from this forum, i would suggest to read that and show that to your mom and hopefully that will help

Not to sound rude, but before you purchase a fish please make sure you can provide the adequate environment for the fish in question. The minimum sized aquarium for a betta I would say would be around 3 gallons, But preferably 10 gallons. An 8oz cup is not an acceptable environment for your betta. If you are unable to aquire a tank, please give the fish back to your local fish store. For her sake. 

Wansui said: