The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ember04

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Can anyone help me? I am setting up a 7.5-gallon African dwarf frog tank. The tank will be specifically designed around ADF and will have no other tank mate (maybe a snail but that is it). The tank will be planted in a 'jungle' style so very heavily planted and will have lots of driftwood and leaf litter to initial a natural environment. The tank is run on a sun sun 602b canister filter with a spray bar attachment to minimise vibrations and lower flow rate. I have kept African dwarf frogs in the past but only in pairs in larger 20-gallon tanks. How many African dwarf frogs do you think I could put in this size tank? (I know it is small but I am not a beginner I have been keeping fish for 12 years now so I can look after a nano tank). any advice will be so helpful
Thanks

3, they like friends, make sure all of them get food cuz they are slow eaters.

@essjay is another frog friend, our expert no longer roams the forum

thank you HoldenOn I was wondering is there any special needs that an albino African dwarf frog might have

Albino frogs are almost always mis-sold African clawed frogs. If you already have one - or if you want to buy one - check the front feet. If the toes are webbed it's a dwarf; if there's no webbing it's clawed. Also, dwarf frogs' eyes are on the sides of their heads, while clawed frogs' eyes are on the top of their heads.
If you haven't bought it yet, take a magnifying glass when you go shopping to check the front feet as the frogs will be small (juvenile) whichever species.

Clawed frogs get big. They need a tank a good bit bigger than 7.5 gallons. And if you mix them, the clawed frog will end up eating the dwarf frogs.

There is a sticky on dwarf frogs on this forum

I had two dwarf frogs about 10 years ago, the real expert was jenste who helped me a lot with my frogs.