Help! Patches on Betta’s Head

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Libster410

Reaction score
So today I noticed my female betta has a few patches on her head and she hasn’t had them before. I tried taking photos of it, but she kept moving so I could only get this one (pictured below). Im still pretty new to the whole betta/tropical fish keeping, but I’ve had her for over a year and a half now, and I don’t want to lose her just yet. She hasn’t been acting any differently than how she usually does (getting excited when I go up to the tank, zooming to get food, following my finger when I place it on the glass, etc), but the patches are throwing me off. What could this possibly be? Is it curable? Is there even anything wrong? What do I do? Please help me! Thank you in advanced!
D7F42EF2-350F-4F80-8746-5EFCD680389E.png

Hello and welcome to the forum! :hi:

What are your water parameters? Does the spot on her head seem fuzzy? Or does it look like missing scales?

Hello and welcome to the forum! :hi:

What are your water parameters? Does the spot on her head seem fuzzy? Or does it look like missing scales?
It seems like she’s just missing scales, but the nitrate levels are super high, and the pH is slightly more acidic than it it should be, but everything else is where it should be. Could that be what’s going on?

It seems like she’s just missing scales, but the nitrate levels are super high, and the pH is slightly more acidic than it it should be, but everything else is where it should be. Could that be what’s going on?
Water change time! Go ahead and do a big one (70%) asap. Some betta experts will help you figure out the root cause though, and give you a better idea of how to tackle it :)

The pH may be what’s doing it, depends on the level. What are your pH readings?

Large daily water changes will help repair missing scales in no time. Have you noticed her rubbing against anything lately?