My betta has a wound on top of her head.

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Thermal

Reaction score
This is Val, I got her 2 days ago from a breeder via shipping. When the parcel arrived, I noticed that she was not in good condition, a nasty wound on her head, a lot of missing scales, and pale fins. I tried to contact the seller to ask if she already looked similar or already like this before shipping, I didn't really get a response so I'm assuming she got these injuries from the shipping process? I'm not really sure, all I know is that she's not looking too good. Though her behavior seems fine, always active, exploring the tank, trying to eat everything that moves.

I've got a few photos of Val, any help and advice would be greatly appreciated. I really have no clue what to do since this is my first time getting a betta in this condition.

Attachments

• received_796181002416932.jpeg
    received_796181002416932.jpeg
    361.4 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_20240316_143017.jpg
    IMG_20240316_143017.jpg
    211.6 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG20240316140528.jpg
    IMG20240316140528.jpg
    259.3 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG20240316140529.jpg
    IMG20240316140529.jpg
    286.9 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG20240316205326.jpg
    IMG20240316205326.jpg
    122.7 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG20240316204621.jpg
    IMG20240316204621.jpg
    250.7 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG20240316204551.jpg
    IMG20240316204551.jpg
    193.1 KB · Views: 12
Welcome to the forum.

Since I have no idea of your Aquario background and level.

A good description of the current setup and current water parameters, mates, filtration, etc... Are the first things required to asses the range of intervention you have.

A betta only tank can be addressed a lot more aggressively than a betta in a community tank.

For a betta only tank.

At the moment: Ultra clean water, a little aquarium salt and something like Melafix is enough to prevent infection.