Help me build my dream planted German Blue Ram breeder tank

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Reaction score
I have never done a planted tank before but have been reading about it and want to go all in on a 10-20 gallon for my desktop. I work from home and can, fortunately, do whatever necessary to keep up with routine maintenance. I am a chemist and like to stay on top of chemicals, water changes, etc.

I am set on setting up a 10-20 gallon tank to breed German Blue Rams. I really have no idea where to get started and I am using this forum for a "Help make me a shopping list" for a DREAM aquarium. I would like to keep costs somewhat low but will gladly make investments where it is worth it!

I also understand it can take a while to cycle tanks and really am not sure I understand how plants affect cycles. If you suggest certain plants, please let me know a little bit about you're experiences with them! I also would like to know how water changes work with planted tanks... I am sure that is somewhere on this forum already but I can also see how certain plants could make for different water changes/substrate cleaning.

I am pretty familiar with how to breed GBRs but if anybody here has experience there, I would also love your additional input on this! Thanks

Sounds like an interesting project!

For the tank go as big as possible and Iā€™d consider getting a second tank for raising fry and separating the pair if you need to. Iā€™d use sponge filters as it allows micro organisms to grow on the surface which the fry will appreciate.

Iā€™d go through a proper pairing process and start with 8-10 fish and wait for a pair to form and rehome the others. Itā€™s a bit extreme to do but I think it will be worth doing.

The key to success with these fish is high temperatures, low ph, soft water and very clean water with near 0 nitrates.